Skip to Main Content

Boards and Commissions

Board of Zoning Appeals

The Board of Zoning Appeals is a five member Board of Deer Park residents, appointed by the Mayor.  The Board is responsible for hearing appeals from individuals who are requesting exceptions or variations to City Zoning Code.

Community Improvement Corporation

The Deer Park Community Improvement Corporation (CIC) is an economic development corporation organized for the purpose of advancing, encouraging, and promoting the industrial, economic, commercial and civic development of the Deer Park community. The purpose of the CIC is to attract new businesses to the city, retain those businesses already operating in the city, and improve the quality of life of city residents. 

Community Reinvestment Area

The City of Deer Park has designated Deer Park as a Community Reinvestment Area (CRA).   

A Community Reinvestment Area (CRA) provides tax abatement to promote new construction or rehabilitation of residential, commercial or industrial structures. The property owner receives a tax abatement on the increase in property valuation resulting from the improvements. The objective of the City of Deer Park's CRA Program is to promote investment in new and existing properties in Deer Park.

Note: some properties may have a TIF or other tax funding agreement and therefore a full CRA tax abatement cannot be issued simultaneously while that TIF agreement is in place.  For example, the Townhomes of Wentworth are in a TIF District, scheduled until Oct 1, 2031.  (That Service Agreement is for 75 % of property taxes to go to the TIF bond repayment & cannot have a CRA abatement on that portion during the life of the agreement.)

Civil Service Commission

The Civil Service Commission is responsible for overseeing the civil service rules as they apply to the classified positions within the City. The Commission also has the duty to administer competitive examinations for vacancies within the classified service, and recommending candidates for appointment to those vacancies.

Planning and Zoning Commission

The Planning and Zoning Commission considers zoning requests for zone changes, zoning text amendments, and conditional uses, and other planning and zoning issues as defined in the city codified ordinances.  The Commission is comprised of three Deer Park residents appointed by the Mayor, as well as the City Manager and the Mayor.  

loading gif